Instagram to launch a Feature to Stop Blocked Contacts from reconnecting via New Accounts

Instagram to launch a Feature to Stop Blocked Contacts from reconnecting via New Accounts

Instagram to soon roll out a new feature which will prevent the user’s abusive messages by filtering offensive words, phrases, and emojis on the photo-sharing app.

On Wednesday, the company said that along with the filter option for abusive direct messages, it will also make it tough for people blocked by users to evade and contact them through new accounts.

Instagram has been trying to find out ways to tackle hate speech and online abuse on its platform. The new filter introduced will be found in privacy settings from which it can be activated and can be customised by users to include phrases, words, and emojis which they want to block while receiving message requests. This new feature is only applicable to message requests or DM’s and not the inbox.

Instagram mentioned that the users can Users can use their discretion to report, delete or open messages, which will be sorted into a hidden requests folder.

Instagram mentioned that this new feature will roll out soon in some countries in the coming weeks. Also, in the coming weeks all users will also have the extended option to entirely block out people from contacting them on Instagram, after blocking their account.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.